How Do You Clear Your iPhone to Sell It?

Are you getting ready to trade in your iPhone 8/iPhone 7S/iPhone 7S Plus for a bigger storage, faster iOS, and larger screen device like iPhone 7s Plus? Then, asking the question "Should you clear your iPhone before sell it?" is in line with your new plan. In order to understand the importance of cleaning iPhone storage space before reselling it, and before looking up tips for reselling iPhone on eBay, Amazon, and other online or offline stores, you should read this article to learn the reason why, and how to clear your iPhone to sell it.

Things You Need Do to Clear Your iPhone to Sell It

The need to remove your personal information from your iDevice before selling, reselling, sending to for repair, or giving it away must not be neglected. Before selling your iPhone, you should endeavor to accomplish the following safety checks.

#1: First of All, Backup Your iPhone Data

Creating a backup of your data and files on iCloud or PC through iTunes is a good way to eliminate chance of data loss during factory reset. Having already mentioned the two prominent ways of backing up iPhone data, we shall be discussing systematic step-guides as follows.

Backup through iTunes

Step 1:Connect your iPhone to computer for iTunes to automatically pop-up, if it does not pop-up, you can manually launch iTunes.

Step 2:Ensure that iCloud is turned off on your iPhone; if it is not switched off, you won't be able to backup on iTunes.

Step 3:Click on your device from iTunes, this can be seen from the upper left corner of iTunes under device.

Step 4:Click on "Backup".

backup iPhone


#2: Completely Clear Your iPhone to Sell It - Erase All iPhone Data

Totally eliminating every personal data on iPhone before selling it, is the best way to prevent data leakage or privacy bleach when giving out or selling your iPhone on eBay, Amazon, or other online or offline platforms. There are two ways to clear your iPhone to sell it - Restore and Using a Third Party software.

Option 1 Factory Reset - The Deleted Data Is Recoverable

It would be pertinent to mention here that "Restore" operation on the iPhone does not delete personal data from the device. To be precise, mail, contacts, location, IP address, bank details, credit card details, real name, etc. remain intact after running an iPhone factory reset. The major cause of this anomaly is because of NAND flash memory, which is a type of storage device used by Apple's smartphone, which often keeps redundant copies of stale data in areas that are not part of the device's file system.

To clear your iPhone to sell it, if factory reset is the only available option that you have, you can follow these steps to restore your iPhone to factory setting using iTunes.

Step 1: Connect your iPhone to computer for iTunes to automatically pop-up, if it does not pop-up, you can manually launch iTunes.

Step 2: Click on your device from iTunes, this can be seen from the upper left corner of iTunes under device.

Step 3: In the Summary panel, click "Restore".

Step 4: Click on "Restore" again to confirm your action.

Step 5: Once factory reset is complete, your iPhone will restart.

Option 2 Permanently Erase All iPhone Contents - 100% Unrecoverable!

iMyFone Umate Pro or iMyFone Umate Pro for Mac is a data destroyer that is specially made to erase personal data from iPhone and other iDevices. It uses over 25 analytical technologies to trace, identify, and wipe out every form of data on your iPhone. This gives you the privy to proceed in selling, giving away, or sending your iPhone to the repairer, knowing well that your private data has been made to disappear forever.

Windows version Mac version

The following systematic steps will help to direct you in using iMyFone Umate to wipe out every data on your iPhone.

Step 1: After download and installing iMyFone Umate Pro on your Windows or Mac PC, please connect your iOS device to your computer via cable. If this is the first time you are connecting to the computer, you may need to trust the computer first.

Step 2: Click on "Erase All Data" tab from the Umate Home Interface, Click “Erase” button and then in the next window you will be asked to type "delete" into the box to confirm.

how do you clear your iphone to sell it

Step 3: Type "delete" into the box to confirm. However, if you want to change the security level of Umate Pro, you can click the link to change the level. Please read security level Settings carefully.

clear your iphone

Step 4: After you manually type 'delete' into the box to confirm your action, Click "Erase Now" button to erase all data on your device.

At this point, every formerly deleted file, and current file on your iPhone has been totally wiped out beyond recovery, so this is a better solution to clear your iPhone to sell it.


#3: Partly Clear Your iPhone to Sell It - Selectively Erase iPhone Private Data

If do not want to erase all iPhone data, then you can selectively erase your private data. Umate Pro offers users different options for data erasing, except erasing all iPhone data, you can also choose to selectively erase already deleted files, or choose to selectively erase app data from your iPhone. Let us look at how to partly erase files and app logs using iMyFone Umate Pro.

  • Erase previously deleted files: Previously deleted files are those iPhone files that were deleted from iDevice but they still have their redundant copies on your iPhone. Using this option would ensure that all your deleted files are well shredded so that no traces of such data will be recoverable.
  • Erase personal App data: Erase iPhone WhatsApp data, messages, photos, call histories, videos, etc. can be selectively erased from your iPhone using iMyfone Umate Pro. This option offers you choices on the data you would like to delete from your iPhone.

clear iphone iPhone

In all, what we have said is that restoring your iPhone through iTunes is a very risky venture, because all the personal information that were sitting on the device before factory reset will still remain in the allocated blocks of their iPhone's NAND memory. Therefore, before disposing your iPhone, please, utilize iMyFone Umate Pro to permanently erase your iPhone data.

They're downloading

iMyFone Umate Pro

Permanently erase private iOS data: WhatsApp messages & attachments, messages, call histories, photos, videos etc.

Download Download

iMyFone Umate

1-click to clear up and boost up your iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch, as well as optimize iOS performance.

Download Download