These days, we're used to sharing all kinds of information about us with third parties—whether we are aware of it or not. With modern social media and communication apps, it's just a habit for most people to put themselves out there and to broadcast what they are doing openly with their friends and acquaintances.
But what if there are some things that you'd like to just keep to yourself? What if you'd like to share some information with some people, but not with others? Luckily, with WeChat you do have some control over your privacy settings, which can help you choose who you want to engage with and who you'd rather ignore.
What Are WeChat Privacy Settings on iPhone? How to Apply?
- Friend Confirmation: This is where you can control whether or not someone add you as a friend with your permission.
- Add Me as A Friend: With this setting, you can control how people can add you. For example, you can disable their ability to add you via WeChat ID.
- Find Mobile Contacts: Disabling this will make it so that you are not automatically connected with people on your mobile contacts list.
- Block List: With this setting, you can manage the people who you want to block from your WeChat.
- Don't Share My Moments: You can also have a list of people with which you don't share your moments.
- Hide User's Moments: Similarly, if you don't want to see someone's moments, you can hide this function from yourself, too.
- Public Moments: If you enable it, strangers can see your 10 most recent moments shared to all. If you are very concerned about privacy, it's probably best to disable it.
How to Safely Protect Your WeChat Privacy on iPhone?
Of course, the above steps are just some preliminary measures that you can take to protect your privacy on WeChat using the Wechat privacy settings. If you really care about your privacy, though, there is much more to be done.
Your biggest vulnerability is if your iPhone gets lost or stolen, or if someone just decides to snoop on you. You can try to delete your history or other information on WeChat, but manually deleting on your iPhone doesn't actual erase this data. It is still recoverable.
The only way you can really keep your private data safe is by permanently erasing your private WeChat data. One great way to do this is by using the convenient application iMyFone Umate Pro iPhone Data Eraser or iMyFone Umate Pro for Mac, which support to permanently erase WeChat messages and attachments.
It has some great, easy to use functions that can protect your privacy:
Erase Deleted Files: If you previously manually deleted data from WeChat, iMyFone has this function that allows you to go back and permanently erase these files as well so that they are no longer recoverable. No matter when you deleted them, they will be found out if they are still under the risk of recovery.
Erase Private Fragments: Some incomplete fragments which are under the risk of recovery in the future can be found out and permanently destroyed. WeChat fragments are inclusive. Not only WeChat fragments, but also fragments in other third party apps will be completely erased. It is the ultimate way to keep all your private data safe. Don't leave yourself any risk.
Use these erasing modes, and your data will be completely erased. In order to erase your private WeChat data from iPhone, all you have to do is go through these three simple steps:
Apart from that, iMyFone Umate Pro also has other great functions:
- iPhone Boost-Up: So much useless data or files stored on your iPhone would influence its performance. Thoroughly removing as many as 30+ types of hidden junk files and temporary files can be achieved with 1 click here.
- iOS Data Transfer: Videos, audio books, music, etc. Over large files and photos can be transferred from your iPhone to computer in bulk.
- iPhone Space Saver: You can mass delete photos, videos, music or apps in bulk once.
- Completely Reset: Factory reset on iPhone is not completely safe. You should consider iMyFone instead of reset, because data erased by iMyFone is 100% unrecoverable.