If you want to give your iPhone away or selling it to a new user, you may need to reset it completely by erasing all your data on the phone. There are different ways that you can do this. But one thing you should know between these ways, that in normal methods of restoration you just deleted your data from your sight, so it can be accessed still. For a better and safer method, you should get help from professionals.
Part 1. How to Reset iPhone to New Using Professional Tools
To reset your iPhone to new or to reset your iPhone for new user in a safer way, there are a variety of professional tools like iMyFone Umate Pro for Windows or iMyFone Umate Pro for Mac that can help. We put this option at the top of the list, because restoring your phone with professional software is the safest and most secure way to go about it.
Why is this method safer? In other methods of restoration, when you delete your data, it isn’t actually deleted. It may not be visible to the human eye, but deep down in your phone, all of that information is still accessible. This means that anyone with a good software tool can recover your data if they get a hold of your phone. But with professional software like iMyFone Umate Pro, you can permanently delete all of your data before restore, ensuring that no one else has access.
Features of iMyFone Umate Pro:
- Reset your iPhone by erasing all data with 0% recovery rate.
- Secure your private data including messages, call logs, browsing history, photos, videos, etc.
- Even preview and erase your deleted files to ensure them unrecoverable.
- Wipe out messages and attachments of third party Apps permanently.
- 3 Erasing levels for different needs to erase data completely.
Here’s how to reset iPhone to new:
Step 1: Download iMyFone Umate Pro and connect your iPhone to the computer.
Step 2: Choose the “Erase all Data” option and click “Erase” when prompted.
Step 3: Confirm your choice to delete by typing “delete” into the box.
Step 4: Click “Erase Now”.
Once you have done this, absolutely all your data will be erased from your phone, and there is no need to perform an actual reset!
Part 2. Hоw Do You Rеѕеt iPhone 7/7 Plus wіth іTunеѕ
If you prefer, you can also reset your iPhone using iTunes. This method is suitable for the situation that you may just give your iPhone to your family member or your friends.
Step 1: Connect your device to the computer.
Step 2: Open iTunes and Click the device tab from the top left corner.
Step 3: Click “Restore iPhone” in the Summary tab of iTunes.
Step 4: iTunes will ask if you’re ready to restore you iPhone, and click “Restore”.
Step 5: After it finished, iTunes will ask if you want to restore from backup, choose “Set up as a new iPhone” to start fresh with factory settings.
Nоtе: When the process done, iTunes will install the latest version of iOS software on you iPhone. Please note that the data just deleted still can be recovered, so if you need to erase them permanently you will need iMyFone Umate Pro for Windows or iMyFone Umate Pro for Mac to help you.
Part 3. How to Reset iPhone to New in Settings
If you aren’t too familiar with iTunes, you can also reset your iPhone directly from the settings option on it. This method is just to reset your iPhone to new simply not completely. Here’s how:
Step 1: Click on Settings > General > Reset.
Step 2: Click on Erase All Content and Settings.
Step 3: Enter your Passcode or Apple ID.
Step 4: Confirm your choice to erase data.
And it’s that simple. Just wait for your data to erase and follow the steps to set up your phone.
Note: Remember that this option resets your phone and erases your data, but nothing is permanently erased. This method is okay if you are going to continue using the phone yourself, but we wouldn’t recommend if you are going to sell or donate it.
Part 4. How to Reset iPhone to New Remotely
If you haven’t reset your iPhone before you giving or donating it way, or even worse that you have lost your iPhone, or if your iPhone has been stolen, you can use iCloud to delete your data remotely. Here’s how:
Step 1: Log into iCloud in www.iCloud.com/#find and click Find iPhone.
Step 2: Click on “All Devices” and find the device you would like to erase.
Step 3: Click Erase iPhone and wait for the process to finish.
Note to users: You can only use this option if your “Find My iPhone” option is turned on. For security purposes, we recommend always having this option turned on.
There are several different methods that you can use to restore your iPhone to new. The method you use will depend on the purpose of the restore. If you have lost your iPhone, or it has been stolen, you may have no choice but to use the iCloud method. If you just want to start fresh, and plan to continue using the phone yourself, the iTunes and iPhone settings methods will work just fine. But if you are planning on selling or donating your phone, and need to permanently remove all information and data, a software tool like iMyFone Umate Pro is highly recommended.