Secure Wipe iPhone 7: No Reactivation, No Data Loss / Leakage

iMyfone Umate Pro iMyfone Umate Pro

A number of reasons exist as to why you may want to secure wipe your iPhone. Some may say it is because they have limited storage space while others may whine over the slow speed with which the iPhone 7 may be running due to excessive files. Or perhaps, you have simply got bored of your old iPhone and may be thinking of selling it for a newer version.

Whatever the case, almost every iPhone 7 user will want to clear up their iPhone from time to time for various reasons. Besides, it is best to do so just to remain secure and not let get crucial files end up in the wrong hands.

Is It Secure to Wipe iPhone 7 from Settings?

Most of us who have come across the need to wipe iPhone would have considered doing so through ‘Settings’ in iPhone 7. However, deleting data manually as such may have its suspicions. It is after all not 100% secure. There can be bugs, viruses etc. that can mess up your deletion process.

So returning to our question, the answer is simple; no, it is not as secure as you might have expected. There are various subtleties that you need to be aware of when wiping your iPhone through the “Settings” menu. On a very practical level, it is just not known as to what types of files have been deleted. Of course, one might think that the files deleted may be temporary junk files, crash logs, app caches etc. Although this may be true, it is never guaranteed that the files deleted will all be irrelevant to you. Perhaps for most of us they might be irrelevant, but for some they may the most important of all. After all, one man’s trash is another man’s treasure. This implies that you may end up having files deleted that may be quite vital.

wipe iphone

Another thing that you need to be aware of is that there can be errors while deleting such a large amount of files. This can cause disruptions and may mess up your iPhone’s crucial setting as well. Also, the files that you do delete are exposed to all types of risks as they can be easily recovered using specialized recovery software.


Perfect Solution for Securely Wiping iPhone 7: iMyFone Umate Pro

Given the above risks that are associated with wiping iPhone through Settings, it is advisable to use a more robust and safe alternative – iMyFone Umate Pro or iMyFone Umate Pro for Mac. iMyFone Umate Pro is a third-party that is designed specially to address the risks mentioned above in terms cleaning up your iPhone.

Windows version Mac version

Firstly, it is a very easy-to-use software that allows you to delete data of various types in different ways. Specifically designed to securely delete all your data, it is incredibly secure. In fact, when you delete your data, it will prompt you to choose the security standard level each time you want to erase.

Furthermore, one special feature of the software is that it lets you select files that you want to delete individually and you can also preview the files before wiping them off. This means you can be assured of deleting only those files that are not important and not fear about losing critical data.

You can also compress photos to increase space. There are four options that you can choose in order to secure wipe data from iPhone 7.

  • 1-Click Free Up Space: As the name suggests, this option allows you to clean up your iPhone so as to increase space and speed up your iPhone 7. You can use this option to delete junk files, temporary files, app caches, compress photos, bulk delete multiple photos/videos/apps, so as to save huge storage and boost up your iPhone.
  • Erase All Data: This is quite a simple and secure option. By selecting this, you will be erasing all the files from iPhone 7. Just like the Factory Reset, but the data erase is unrecoverable.
  • Erase Deleted Files:As mentioned earlier, the files that you delete normally can still be accessed using various other data recovery software. This is because the data is not completely overwritten. Once you select the option ‘Erase Deleted Files’, the software will completely overwrite the data that has been deleted. However, you will be allowed to preview the files before deleting them.
  • Erase Private Data:If you only want to delete private files, you can select this option. You will be allowed to select the files that you deem to be private and erase them accordingly.

Below are the steps for securely wiping iPhone with iMyFone Umate Pro.

Step 1: Connect your iPhone to the computer and launch iMyFone Umate Pro.

connect iphone

Step 2: Select the “Erase all Data” option and click the ‘Erase’ button. (If you do not want to completely erase all data on your iPhone 7, you can choose other erasing mode which fits your needs.)

secure wipe iphone

Step 3: Type in Delete to confirm and thing click the Erase Now button.

erase iphone

norton mcafee