When Will Your iPhone be Disabled?
Your iPhone becomes disabled if you have typed in the wrong passcode too many times when you try to unlock your iPhone. If you initially enter the wrong passcode too many times, there is a five minutes delay. If you continue entering the wrong passcode, the waiting time increases until the iPhone gets disabled.
Here is how the error messages tie into the number of wrong password:
- 6 wrong password: iPhone is disabled. Try again in 1 minute.
- 7 wrong password: iPhone is disabled. Try again in 5 minutes.
- 8 wrong password: iPhone is disabled. Try again in 15 minutes.
- 9 wrong password: iPhone is disabled. Try again in 60 minutes.
- 10 wrong password: iPhone is disabled. Connect to iTunes.
This is a security measure by the iPhone to prevent the wrong persons from accessing the private data you have on your iPhone. If you see the message “iPhone is disabled. Try again in XX minutes”, what you can do is to wait and try again. But if you see this message “iPhone is disabled. Connect to iTunes”, the only way to unlock your disabled iPhone is to restore it.
How to Unlock a Disabled iPhone without iTunes
The common way of unlocking a disabled iPhone is via iTunes. However, this does not mean that there isn’t another way of having your disabled iPhone unlocked. If you do not want to unlock your disabled iPhone with iTunes, you can simply make use of “Find My iPhone” by just following these easy steps:
- Go to icloud.com and log in to your iCloud account.
- Afterwards, go to Find iPhone section and click on the “All Devices” option. A list of all the devices that are connected to your Apple ID will be displayed. Pick the iOS device that has been disabled.
- Tap on Erase iPhone and confirm it.
- Launch iTunes and connect your iPhone to the computer (You should have synced your iPhone with this computer before).
- Click on the device tab at the upper left corner on iTunes.
- You will be in the Summary window. Tap “Back Up Now” button to start the backup process.
- When the backup is completed, you can start to unlock your iPhone with/without iTunes.
You should know that after you have been able to unlock your disabled iPhone, it will reset back to factory default settings and all data will be removed. Restoring iPhone is the only way to remove the screen lock from disabled iPhone.
How to Unlock Disabled iPhone without Losing Data
Unlocking disabled iPhone will cause everything to be erased from iPhone. So don’t forget to backup your iPhone data before you reset it. But note that the only way to backup a disabled iPhone is using iTunes “Backup Up” feature. After you unlock your device, you can restore the backup to your iPhone.
Steps to Backup Disabled iPhone:
When you have unlocked your iPhone, connect your iPhone to this iTunes again and use the “Restore Backup” feature for your device.
How to Completely Reset Disabled iPhone without iTunes
Instead of completely resetting your disabled iPhone via iCloud, you can simply do it with iMyFone Umate Pro Win/Mac. iMyFone is an ultimate iPhone data eraser, as it is able to completely erase all your data from your iPhone.
Compared to normal reset that just hide iPhone data, “Erase All Data” feature of iMyFone will permanently overwrite the data to be unrecoverable. Apart from reset iPhone, you can selectively erase some specific private data.
Steps to Permanently Reset iPhone in 0% Recovery Rate
Note: To permanently reset your iPhone, “Find My iPhone” should be disabled. Besides, your iPhone has trusted this computer before.
Step 1. Connect your iPad or iPhone to your computer: launch iMyFone Umate Pro.
Step 2. Select “Erase All Data” mode from the left sidebar. Click on Erase button.
Step 3. Select the security level and type “delete” into the box to confirm.
Key Features of Umate Pro:
- You can erase data from your iPhone without the fear that it can be recovered, even by the FBI.
- You can completely wipe off all third-party apps and their remnant data from your device, like WhatsApp, WeChat, Kik, Viber messages and attachments.
- You can completely erase all traces of deleted files left on your iPhone.
- You can completely erase all private fragments left by third-party apps for privacy protection.
- Clear all the junk, cache, corrupted files and more from iPhone in one place to boost your iPhone performance, for free.