iOS 11 Stop Creepy Apps Like Uber from Tracking Your Location

Apple has always been mindful about the privacy of its users. To protect the privacy of its users, Apple is introducing a feature in its new iOS 11 that will stop an app to constantly monitor your location.

Part 1: iOS 11 Prevents Tracking Your Location : What Does It Bring for Users?

In previous iOS versions such as iOS10, this feature was only available on a limited number of apps that had this option built in them. Other Apps like Uber could give off your location even when they weren’t open on your device, when they were given the permission to have access to your location. This new feature has been integrated in the first beta version of the iOS11 and it can undergo major changes till the iOS11’s release. This feature will mean very good things for battery life as battery life will significantly increase due to reduction in the use of GPS technology.

‘’While using the app’’ option will be a favorite among users who are overly concerned about their privacy. In the previous versions of the iOS, there were only two options, to permit location tracking or to not permit it. With this extra option, the app will be unable to track your location if you’re not using it. This little integration will bring a world of difference.
ios 11 private options

This new feature will be beneficial for a lot of people as it will not only preserve and help regulate the privacy of the user but it will also save battery life. It will provide a ‘’full range’’ of options to the user that were not available to him before. This will mean that the user will have more options to choose and to make sure that his location isn’t being given off to unwanted sources. In the 21st century, privacy is everything and such features promote confidence and encourage the user to choose iOS11 over other operating systems.
ios 11 not track location

Part 2: How to Protect Your Privacy by Turning off Your Location in iOS 11

If you don’t want to give off your location to a third party app, you can go to privacy>locations services and toggle it off. This is also the section where you will find the while using option mentioned above. You can switch it on and off as well.

IOS Security Options in The New iOS11

  1. One of the security features in the new iOS is that you can choose which apps can have access to other apps. For example, you can block the access of Google Maps to the microphone app. Go to settings> Privacy > apps. Here, you will see a list of apps. Click on app to view what other apps can get access to it and accordingly allow or deny access based on your preferences.
  2. Apple can collect user data from their devices to make advertisements based on that data. If that doesn’t sit well with you, you can limit ad tracking in the new version of iOS. Go to Settings>Privacy>Advertising and toggle on or off limit Adtracking. By doing this, you will restrict the access of developers to your personal data and roaming patterns.
  3. If your Apple device crashes due to an error or a malfunction, your data or crash report is sent to Apple . By studying this data, developers can find the cause behind the crash and provide effective solutions. You will need to provide permission to send the crash report to Apple developers. Your anonymity will stay intact during the whole process. Go to Settings>privacy>diagnostic and usage. You will see a switch adjacent to the share with developers’ option. You can turn it on to send your data to concerned Apple technicians.

Guarantee Your Security with iMyFone Umate Pro

If you want to guarantee your security, then iMyFone Umate Pro or iMyFone Umate Pro for Mac has you covered in that regard. The built in features inside the iOS do not ensure total removal of all your personal data. So, relying on the factory reset is not recommended if you want to do a thorough clean up of your device.

Try It FreeTry It Free

It is a very handy tool that helps you to completely erase data from your iPhone and recommend by many well-known media. Even if you delete certain files from your device, they can still be found in the storage and are not completely removed. IMyFone Umate makes sure that all deleted files are completely erased from your device.

How to Use iMyFone Umate for Privacy Protection

Step 1. To use the program, download the program and install it on your computer.
Step 2. Connect your device to the computer and open the program and choose an erasing mode.

ios 11 security

Step 3. Select scan on the iMyFone Umate and let it do its work.

ios 11 private options

Step 4. Once it’s done scanning, it will give you options to erase on your device.

iphone data eraser

It also has an erase all data option but it should only be used when you no longer want to use your device again. After selecting this option, none of your data can be recovered.

Another option is the erase deleted files option in the program. Click it and follow the instructions provided by the iMyFone Umate pro to delete hidden files.