iOS 13 Location Privacy Feature: Keep Your Location Secret

iOS 13 brings lots of new features and enhancements. The most important of these features are related to location and privacy. iOS 13 has apparently doubled down the privacy and security aspects by introducing a new way to log into websites and apps. Read on to learn about these features and enhancements.

Part 1. What’s the New Feature of Location Privacy in iOS 13?

The main feature introduced in iOS 13 related to location privacy is the ability to control apps’ access to your location. In previous iOS versions, apps could constantly request access to your location every time you open them up. However, in iOS 13, there are three different options.

#1. Decide how often apps can track your location

With iOS 13 location privacy feature, you can now change to different options i.e. allow continuous location access when the app is being used, allow once, or don’t allow location access to the app at all.

You will receive a message when you first use an app that asks if you would like to approve constant access. Also if you want to always have access to an app, you can go to Settings > Privacy > Location Services and tap the app's name. Here you can change the permission setting of an app.

ios-13-how-often-location-track

#2. Check how often apps track your location

In iOS 13, it will be more transparent on how often an app accesses your location. A map of all places will check your location in the background and it will also allow you to change the app settings.

ios-13-location-tracking

#3. Stop location-snooping from another way

You should notice that some apps never ask permission to your location, but it doesn’t mean that they didn’t get your location through other ways like Wi-Fi or Bluetooth. With iOS 13, you can decide if you need to use Bluetooth when you first use an app. You will be surprised that many apps did not actually need to use Bluetooth which you can turn it off in Settings>Privacy>Bluetooth list.

bluetooth settings iOS 13

Check here to know more details about iOS 13’s new features and its secrets.

Part 2. How Can it Improve the Users’ Privacy?

The new feature basically gives you more control over how often your installed apps can access your location. Thanks to this feature, you can stop apps from scanning nearby Wi-Fi networks and Bluetooth devices to guess your location. This ultimately protects your privacy.

The process of apps accessing your location is also more transparent now thanks to the periodic alert feature that includes a map of all the places an installed app has checked your location while you are using it.

Apart from this, there are certain apps that don’t even request to access your location but still use known Bluetooth devices and Wi-Fi networks to guess your location. The new location privacy feature protects your privacy by showing a prompt requesting access to your Bluetooth functionality hence providing you more control over such apps.

Know more about iOS 13 privacy here: What's the Secret About iOS 13 Privacy and Security Problem?

Bonus: Ultimate Way to Protect Personal Privacy on iPhone

We would like to introduce a powerful privacy protection tool - iMyFone Umate Pro - a powerful iPhone data erasing tool that can help you protect your privacy. This tool erases data permanently, making it 100% unrecoverable. Apart from this, you can erase private data fragments, deleted files, uninstall apps in bulk, and more. The tool has a user-friendly interface so it is ideal for both beginner and advanced users.

Following are the top features of this tool:

#1. Erase Private Data

With this mode of Umate Pro, you can permanently erase private data such as emails, browsing history, private photos, account information, etc. from your device. The tool also erases all the related residual information permanently, making it completely unrecoverable.

delete guide

#2. Erase Deleted Files

Any file you delete from your device is recoverable via a data recovery software. If you want to protect your privacy, then you need to erase those deleted files. Erase Deleted Files mode of Umate Pro allows you to do exactly that.

delete guide

#3. Erase Private Fragments

With this mode, you can permanently erase incomplete private fragments and traces left by third-party apps. Erasing these private fragments is extremely important to protect your privacy.

delete guide

Try It FreeTry It Free


iOS 13 brings several new, exciting features and its location privacy features are some of the most important ones. If you want to further ensure that your privacy is protected, then it is recommended that you erase your private data, deleted files, private fragments, etc. via iMyFone Umate Pro. Umate Pro erases data permanently, hence making sure that your privacy is fully protected.