You can also read this guide in Français.
Most iPhone owners are familiar with taking selfies and shots of documents that they use at school, at work or from financial institutions. These shots are often saved as images in your iPhone. The picture album used to store this is what is called the Camera Roll in iPhone.
You may thus have hundred of pictures in this camera roll. You may, overtime have such a large photo collection, such that you lack space for taking other photos. Or you may wish to have some sensitive pictures taken out of the camera roll. If this is the case, you will need to delete camera roll on iPhone.
Method 1. Delete Camera Roll iPhone via Photos App
Deleting the camera roll iPhone is not an all complicated process. Here are the steps you will need to take.
- Go to the Photo app on your iPhone.
- Select 'Albums' from the options provided.
- Click on the moments view tab under the 'Collections'.
- Click on the 'Select' button to select the photos you wish to delete.
- Click on the trash can that is at the lower right of the phone's screen.
- A prompt will appear, asking if you wish to delete the number of photos selected. Click on it to delete the photos.
Method 2. Delete iPhone Camera Roll from Settings
The above is just one way of deleting iPhone camera roll. You can also follow the below steps:
- Go to Settings > General > Photos & Camera.
- Under Camera Roll, there is a red delete button. Click on it, and it will delete ALL photos from your camera Roll.
There is a difference between these two methods of deleting camera roll on iPhone. The first one is a bit taxing, as you will have to select your photos one by one if they are not grouped. However, if they are grouped, you can select them according to their groupings, no matter the number. Once you have deleted them, they will stay in the "Recently Deleted" folder in the 'Albums' section for 30 days. You can thus go back and replace any photos you may have deleted by accident.
The second option is much quicker, but only applies to a certain amount of photos, ranging in hundreds. With this method, you cannot reverse the action like in the first method.
While these two methods are very effective in clearing space taken up in the camera roll, it is not applicable to thousands or many hundreds of photos you may have. What’s more, as photos deleted by the 2 methods above can still be recovered by recovery software, so for privacy protection, if you have some personal or sensitive photos, you’d better erase them permanently, so they won’t be restored by others.
Method 3. Permanently Erase iPhone Photos with NO Chance to Recovery
Thus, it may be necessary to use other third party apps to delete iPhone camera roll. One such app is iiMyFone Umate Pro or iMyFone Umate Pro for Mac. This software is designed to help make cleaning up your phone be as fast and effective as possible. It has great features that can be used to erase permanently data from your iPhone.
Steps to Erase Permanently iPhone Photos
Step 1. Download and run the program on your PC or Mac, and connect your iPhone with the USB cable.
Step 2. Choose the mode your want to delete camera roll on your iPhone:
1-click Free Up Space - mass delete the photos or compress your photos with backup for original photos on your PC. Photos deleted in this mode can be recovered by recovery tools.
Erase All Data - erase all your iPhone date permanently with no chance to recovery, including all your photos on iPhone.
Erase Deleted Files - find out all your previously deleted files including photos, and erase all them permanently with no chance to recovery.
Erase Private Files - scan your iPhone and find all your current personal files, then erase them date permanently with no chance to recovery.
Step 3. Start to erase permanently your photos.
With iMyFone Umate Pro iPhone Data Eraser comes the following options:
• Clean up all iPhone files, such as photos, messages, account passwords, etc.
This method is very general. It does not clean up just one file type, but all files that are taking up a lot of space in your phone. It will thus delete photos, videos, apps as well as all other data that may have been saved on your phone.
• Find and erase previously deleted data & currently existing data
This method is handy when you have used the first method discussed above in deleting your camera roll iPhone. The software scans your device for data that was previously deleted but that still exists in your system, as well as searches for similar existing files in your phone. Then the program can erase them totally, so they cannot be recovered by any recovery tool to ensure your privacy secure.
• Permanently deleted files with no recovery opportunities.
This method is very handy, especially if you no longer wish to have any of your sensitive photos resurfacing to bring you sleepless nights. You can thus be sure that once these are found and erased b iMyFone Umate Pro, they are gone forever.
With these three options, you can choose one that will suit your needs in cleaning up your iPhone and keeping privacy secure.