It is common for an iPhone to misbehave. For example, an iPhone may have a bug which causes it to not function as it should. Also, your iPhone may have network connection issues such that you cannot access the internet. One of the major solutions iPhone users will apply in such cases will involve reset settings iPhone. This solution works.
However, not many people know what reset settings iPhone involves. In this article, we tell you everything you need to know about resetting your iPhone. If you are having some problems with your iPhone or planning to sell your device, these can be very helpful to know.
Part 1. Know about Reset Settings on Your iPhone
There are a number of reset options in iOS for your iPhone or iPad.These can all be accessed from the Settings > General > Reset or in some cases by using Find My iPhone. They all function differently according to different scenarios for you might need to use one or another. If you are having a problem with your iPhone or iPad, these settings can be a quick and easy fix to reset your iPhone.
Reset All Settings - This option allows you to keep your data and apps. It will only reset your personal preferences and network settings.
Erase All Content and Settings – This reset settings iPhone method will wipe everything you have on your iPhone including apps, email accounts, system settings, personal data, etc.
Reset Network Settings – When you use this reset settings iPhone method, you will reset your Wi-Fi networks and passwords, VPN settings, and cellular settings you have used before.
Reset Keyboard Dictionary – This iPhone reset will remove the words you have added to the iPhone user dictionary. These are usually added when you reject the suggestions offered by iPhone as you type.
Reset Home Screen Layout – This option will change the arrangement of the apps you have on your Home screen. After the reset, the apps will be arranged the way they were when the iPhone left the factory.
Reset Location & Privacy – This option will restore the default factory privacy and location settings.
Part 2. Erase All Content and Settings vs. Erase All Data Permanently
In the reset settings on iPhone, the Erase All Content and Settings option does not wipe your data completely from your iPhone. Although you cannot see the erased data, the data will still be available on your iPhone and it can be recovered quite easily. Sometimes, you may need to safeguard your privacy. In such a case, Erase All Content and Settings will not work for you.
However, there are third-party tools which can help you erase your data with a 0% chance of its recovery. The best tool to use is known as iMyFone Umate Pro for Windows or iMyFone Umate Pro for Mac . This tool will help you do a complete reset on your iPhone.
The features you will get in iMyfone Umate Pro include:
- You can erase your data completely with a 0% chance of recovery.
- You get to secure your private data before recycling or selling your iPhone.
- You can view already deleted data and make them unrecoverable.
- You can erase completely third-party apps: WhatsApp, WeChat, Kik, Viber, and 10+ more.
HHere’s how to erase all data permanently:
Note: Before you start the process, please turn off the Find My iPhone first on your phone.
Step 1: Launch iMyFone Umate Pro on your computer and connect to your device.
Step 2: Choose the "Erase All Data" mode and then click the “Erase” button.
Step 3: Select the security level by typing "delete" into the box to confirm.
Step 4: After confirm the process, click Erase Now button to erase all data on your device.
After the process of Erase All Data permanently done, you can now use it as a brand new phone or resell it to others without worrying any privacy leak.
Part 3. Reset All Settings & Erase All Content and Settings
Difference Between Reset All Settings and Erase All Content and Settings
In the reset settings on iPhone, if you reset all the settings you have on your iPhone, you will only erase your personal preferences. Also, you will lose your network settings. However, you still get to keep your apps and other data. If you use the Erase All Content and Settings option, you will erase all your data. This means that your apps, personal preferences, and personal data will be gone. Your iPhone will return to the way it was when it first left the factory.
Since using the Erase All Content and Settings option will erase all your data, it is important that you back up your device before using the option. Below, we show you how to reset all settings and how to erase all content and settings.
How to Reset All Settings:
Step 1: Open Settings and then tap General.
Step 2: Tap Reset under General and then click Reset All Settings.
Step 3: Tap “Reset All Settings” to confirm.
How to Erase All Content and Settings:
Step 1: Open your iPhone Settings and click General.
Step 2: Scroll down and tap Reset.
Step 3: Click Erase All Content and Settings and then click Erase iPhone.
Step 4: Click Erase iPhone again to confirm.
Note: Even though the Erase All Content and Settings option in iPhone reset settings will erase all your data, it still can be recovered easily. If you need to erase all you data permanently, you might need to erase them with a data eraser tool iMyFone Umate Pro for Windows / Mac .
One of the solutions you may apply if your iPhone is misbehaving is reset settings iPhone. This article tells you everything you need to know about iPhone reset settings. The conventional methods of resetting iPhone will delete the iPhone data but it can be recovered. If your major aim while resetting your iPhone is to safeguard your privacy, you will need to use a tool that erases your data with a 0% chance of recovery. The best tool you can use to wipe your iPhone data without a chance of recovery is iMyFone Umate Pro.