3 Things You Must Do Before Selling iPhone

iMyfone Umate Pro iMyfone Umate Pro

The new iPhone is coming out soon and you have thought to yourself, “I don’t need two iPhones”. Exactly, and you decide you’ll get rid of the old iPhone once the new model comes out; to recover part of the fees you will pay.

This is a fantastic idea just that you fear for your private data and all your information stored on the old iPhone falling in the wrong hands. So what to do before selling iPhone? Reset iPhone to sell? But you’ve heard that iPhone reset doesn’t really wipe the phone permanently. That data can still be recovered.

Good news, there’s a way to erase your iPhone data permanently, and I’ll be sharing with you in this article.

What To Do Before Selling iPhone?

1 Backup to iTunes or iCloud

Before selling iPhone, you can choose to backup your files to either your iTunes or your iCloud account. To back up to your iTunes, do the following:

Step 1. Plug your device to your PC via the USB cable and launch iTunes.
Step 2. Sync your device to your iTunes.
Step 3. Right click on your device name on the left hand panel, then Right click and select “Back Up” from the menu.

back up iPhone before selling

To back up to iCloud, do the following:

I’m assuming you’ve not been running automatic updates, so this is how to manually backup to your iCloud: go to Settings > Select iCloud > Select “Backup” and tap the “Backup Now”

For iOS 7 and below, after selecting “iCloud”, select “Backup and Storage”.

Note

It is imperative to backup your files for different reasons which include:

  • Important files you might need to use on a later date.
  • You can drool over memories whenever you want to.
  • You can still use your device if the sales doesn’t materialize.

2 Export Contacts to iCloud

Your contacts are perhaps more valuable that other information you have on your iPhone, as it contains the details of your network. If you don’t want to lose important contacts of your network, what to do before selling iPhone is to export your contacts to iCloud.

Therefore, to backup your contacts to iCloud, perform the following:

Step 1. Log into your iCloud account and click on the contact app.
Step 2. When your contact list is displayed, click on the gear button on the bottom left, click “select all”.
Step 3. Click the gear button and select “Export vCard”.
Step 4. Select save on the dialogue box to save the contacts on your PC.

Export Contacts to iCloud

3 Erase your iPhone before Selling

So, how to erase iPhone before selling? iMyFone Umate Pro or iMyFone Umate Pro for Mac is the powerful tool. It is used to manage all kinds of data on iPhones and other iOS devices. It power stems from the ability to delete and erase files permanently with no chance of being recovered by any recovery tool in the world. Thus, much more safe than a iPhone “Factory Reset”.

Windows version Mac version

It takes the hassles of trying to delete files manually and one after the other. This makes it efficient and swift and extremely useful if you want to erase your iPhone before selling it.

The utility also comes with four different options that put the power totally in your hands depending on what you need. However, for the case of selling iPhone, the erase all option works best.

Erase All Data: This option basically deletes all the files on your iPhone. In this option, files deleted cannot be recovered via any tool. Even though iPhone reset will remove the files from the surface, it can still be recovered through powerful recovery tools. This is the difference between iPhone reset and iMyFone Umate Pro’s erase all option. And the erase all option of Umate Pro removed the need to reactivate the phone again.

erase iPhone before selling

To erase iPhone before selling it with the help of iMyFone Umate Pro, you just need to: Run the program > Connect your iPhone > Choose the mode of “Erase All Data” > Click “Erase” and begin to erase your iPhone.


If you no longer have your iOS device

Perhaps you failed to perform any of the above tasks before selling off your iPhone, fret not, here’s what you can do:

  • Politely request the new owner to delete all data and settings as illustrated above.
  • Erase your device from Find My iPhone app on iCloud from icloud.com/find by selecting your device and clicking “Erase”. After this, simply click “Remove from Account”.
  • If this is also impossible, change the password of your Apple ID. This basically locks out any access to your files via the old phone.
  • If perhaps you’re switching to other operating system different from iOS, deregister iMessage.
  • To protect your finances, remove your credit and debit cards from Apple Pay via iCloud.com. Remove all payment options from the Apple Pay settings.

norton mcafee