How to Restore iPhone 7 to Factory Settings?

iMyfone Umate Pro iMyfone Umate Pro

If you are an iPhone user, it is not surprising to hear of molasses iPhone 7 syndrome which is a situation common among iPhones. For example, the situation warrants an iPhone 7 factory reset and they include laggy access to the Text/ SMS application, a long pause before being able to scroll in contacts as well as a delay that can be experienced when you click on the letter shortcuts in contacts.

In some cases, these issues could manifest when there is more than a five seconds delay to get a live image in the camera application. It is important to note that when you restore iPhone to factory settings, the device does not remain the same, as a lot of things will likely disappear. For example, all your notes, unsynced photos and phone favorites will be lost.

hard reset iphone

Apart from that, it is expected that all your iPhone settings will be reverted to their default factory settings. An example is the email settings and the caps lock settings which returns to their factory settings


How to Restore iPhone 7 to Factory Settings

Before you do this, it is important to note that this process will remove all data, settings, photos, music, in fact everything on your iPhone. However, follow these steps.

Step 1: Back up any data you would like to save.
Step 2: Open the Settings app and tap the “General” tab.
Step 3: Tap “Reset” as you scroll down, then Tap “Erase all Contents and Settings”.
Step 4: Enter iPhone 7 Pass code if there is one set. Use the “Erase iPhone” to confirm the reset.

Now wait for your iPhone 7 to Restore and it takes about 20 minutes. Your iPhone may reboot along the line.

Note

What you should pay attention to is that the data deleted by iPhone “Factory reset” can be recovery by many recovery software. So the “Factory reset” can’t ensure that your private data is 100% secure.

How to Erase Permanently iPhone 7 Data According to Your Needs

Instead of restoring iPhone to factory settings, you can also use iMyfone Umate Pro or iMyfone Umate Pro for Mac - professional iPhone Data Eraser to erase your iPhone 7 data according to your needs. There are four basic modes which help you erase your data securely and permanently, and the erased data will not be recovered by any recovery tool.

Windows version Mac version

Option 1 1-Click Cleanup

This is a basic clear up. It clears up junk and temporary files, remove large files, selectively delete unwanted photos, videos and apps and free up your device, so that it becomes faster by just using just one click.

However, it is important to note that the files deleted in this mode can be recovered.

clear up iphone

Option 2 Erase All Data

This is almost the same with “iPhone factory reset”. The difference is that data erased in this mode cannot be recovered even with modern recovery tools, and it does not require the activation of the iPhone 7 again.

how to factory reset iphone 4

Option 3 Erase Deleted Files

This mode is used for erasing deleted files. For example, if you want an already deleted data on your iPhone to be completely erased so that it has no trace, and could not be recovery by others, then this mode is the best option.

Umate Pro will find the already deleted file on your iPhone and erasing them permanently. Therefore even if you intend to sell your iPhone 7, there is absolutely no chance that your deleted information will be recovered by the new user. You have the option of previewing the files and selecting some or all files to erase.

erase deleted files iphone

Option 4 Erase Private Files

Umate Pro will scan and find all your existing private files in your iPhone. Then, you can select any of the files or select all and then erase them completely as you wish. However, it is important to note that any private file deleted through this mode will remain 100% unrecoverable even with the recovery tools and your personal information will also remain secure.

erase private data iphone

If you want to restore your iPhone to Factory Setting with iMyfone Umate Pro, you should choose "Erase All Data" to reset all your content and setting on iPhone and make it as a new one. If you just want to erase some sensitive data from your iPhone, then the "Erase Deleted Files" and "Erase Private Data" should be your choice.

This program is easy to use, all you need to do is: connect your iPhone 7 > choose the erasing mode > click "Erase now". And it will begin to erase your iPhone data.

norton mcafee