[Solved] If Someone Logs into My iCloud What Can They See?
Category: Unlock iPhone
5 mins read
“A friend asked for my Apple ID last week because he wanted to purchase a paid application. I gave him both my Apple ID and password. Now, I am concerned about the cons of doing this. If he logs into my iCloud account, can he see my pictures and other private data?”
– Nick, Forums.macrumors.com
If you are in this situation, you would probably want to know what someone can see if he/she logs in to your iCloud account. In this article, we will be answering the questions that you may want to know - “if someone logs into my iCloud what can they see?” and “will I be noticed if someone logs into my Apple ID?”
Now download LockWiper to remove all screen locks,Apple ID,MDM & Screen Time restructions without passwords!
In this article:
Part 1: If Someone Logs into My iCloud What Can They See?
For many reasons you might once had lent your Apple ID to a friend, acquaintance or even someone you don’t know, though you might change the password after that, but is that 100% safe? You may be wondering, “if someone has my Apple ID can they see my texts?”
Here is the answer:
If someone logs into your Apple ID they can see your privacy more or less, and what can then see depends on if they log into your Apple ID on the web or on an Apple device.
If someone uses your Apple ID and password to log into iCloud, he/she will be able to see the following:
1 Your Mail
If you use iCloud Mail, your emails will be accessible to anyone who has both your Apple ID and password. To access your emails, all he/she will need to do is visit iCloud.com, log in using your credentials, and then click Mail.
This is crazy!
Anyone, who logs into your Apple ID either on iCloud.com or on an Apple device, can read all your emails, and send emails on behalf of you.
It gets worse:
With your mail they can change your password of any other accounts that are linked to it. Then they can log into your other accounts. Namely, if someone logs into your Apple ID, they have access to your accounts and much of your private information.
By logging into your iCloud account, someone can access your contact list. To view your contacts, anyone who has both your Apple ID and password will only need to click Contacts after logging into iCloud.
That is to say:
By giving out your Apple ID, you’re also giving out the privacy of your friends and family.
After logging into iCloud and clicking the Photos icon, anyone with your Apple ID and password will be able to access your photos in your iCloud.
Here is an example:
Anyone who logs into your Apple ID either on the web or on their Apple device can view My Photo Stream, which stores your recent photos for 30 days. If you turned on My Photo Stream on any of your device, the photos taken by it in the past 30 days will be “shared” with someone who logs into your Apple ID.
However, if you turn off My Photo Stream and retain your photos at their source location such as the Camera Roll, your photos physically stored on your device won’t be viewed if someone logs into your iCloud.
4 Track Your MovementAfter logging into iCloud, the individual will have access to Find My iPhone. This can help him/her track your movement. All he/she will have to do is click Find My iPhone, select All Devices at the top of the page, and then click on the name of the device that he/she wants to track. Find My iPhone does give its users the ability to erase an iPhone remotely. Hence, someone with your Apple ID and password could erase your device remotely.
If someone logs into your Apple ID on the web, they can’t see or send your iMessages.
However, if on an Apple device, they can.
All iMessages you send and receive, through either your Apple ID or phone number, past and future, will be viewed on another device once someone logs into your Apple ID. They can even send iMessages in your name.
In regards to the regular text message (SMS/MMS), they are much safer in such a circumstance. Your SMS/MMS won’t be viewed or sent to them unless you allow by clicking “Settings > Messages > Text Message Forwarding” on your iPhone.
6 iCloud Drive/Notes/Calendar/Keychain
Other things that someone may be able to see after logging into your iCloud include Calendar, the documents stored in the iCloud Drive, Notes, the spreadsheets you had created online using the Numbers feature, Presentations created using the Keynote feature, Reminders, and your iCloud Settings. These can be viewed either on the web or on an Apple device.
If your friend or an acquaintance logs into your Apple ID through OS X or iOS, he/she will have access to your Keychain. All your other accounts stored in it will become vulnerable.
Part 2: Will I Be Noticed If Someone Logs into My iCloud Using My Apple ID?
It’s so risky to give your iCloud to other people!
If someone has my Apple ID and logs into it, will Apple notice me?
The short answer is: Yes!
Since 2017, Apple has added security and they will notify you via email if your Apple ID is logged in on a new device. If the login is unauthorized by you, you can remove that device from your Apple ID in iCloud.
It gets better:
If you’ve set up two-factor authorization (2FA), it is impossible for the unauthorized login unless they also have access to your another device that allows the verification.
Only if someone has your Apple ID and password, access to your device that receives the verification code (if you set up 2FA), and a device that you previously had logged, can they log into your iCloud without your knowing.
Part 3: How to Remove Devices Associated with Your Apple ID Remotely?
It is possible to remove devices registered with your Apple ID via your iDevice or online via iCloud.com. Below, we show you the steps you need to follow:
On iDeviceIt is impossible to view a list of the devices associated with your Apple ID on your iPad, iPod Touch, or iPhone. However, it is possible to remove an associated device. To remove an iDevice, you have to use the device you want to remove. Below, we show you the steps you need to follow:
On iCloud.comIt is possible to view a list of the devices associated with your Apple ID on iCloud.com. However, the iDevices have to be running on iOS 8 or later, Mac computers should be running on OS X 10.10 or later while the Apple TV should be a third-generation or later. You can also view the Apple Watches associated with your Apple ID on iCloud.com. To view and remove these devices, follow the steps below:
Part 4: Hot FAQs about iCloud Logging in
1 Will someone know if I log into their iCloud?
Someone will not know only if you log into that iCloud account from a browser or device that the iCloud owner "Trusted". Again, you must know the iCloud account password. Otherwise, if the owner didn't enable the "Trusted" option for the browser or device, then they'll know if you log into their iCloud.
2 Can you see what devices are using your iCloud?
Yes, you can see all the devices using your iCloud. To check them out:
3 Can you log into someone's iCloud without them knowing?
"Yes", if the 2-factor authentication feature is turned off. And "No" if the 2-factor authentication feature is turned on. If you want to know how to log into iCloud to check messages, just set your phone as a trusted device to receive information on the "verification" code of that iCloud account.
4 Can someone see my texts through iCloud?
Yes! The availability of monitoring tools make it easy for anyone to log into iCloud to check text message and other online activities. They can use the readily available information on the open web or do some guesses on information about you. That's why it is vital to constantly change your password and don't use one password for all your accounts.
5 Does Apple notify you of suspicious activity?
Apple does not notify you of suspicious activity but will alert you via email whenever the system picks up a sign-in from a device that you've never used before to sign in to your account. It then alerts you to take action if it's not you who just signed in. The email will include the exact device that signed in, the time of sign in and the location. So, if it's not you who logged in, Apple gives you a chance to take action. Otherwise, you'll just ignore if it's you who signed in with a different device.