How to Create a New iPhone Backup without Deleting Previous One?

Do you wonder where does the previous backup data go when you add a new backup on a computer or iPhone? Here the article will offer the answer if you're uncertain about why this happens and how to restore your sweet memories, lost contacts, and information.

1. Does iTunes Overwrite iPhone Backups?

Generally, when we go into iTunes and do a manual backup, it automatically deletes (well, the better and more accurate wording is Overwrites) the previous backup files. You can see that only one recent backup shows.

Anyway, no concern is required on this subject as this article will guide you to create a new backup without deleting or overwriting the old ones. But before jumping into the solution, we need to figure out this issue on what happens to iTunes while making backup for iPhone.

iTunes backup

Why iTunes Deletes/Overwrites Old iPhone Backups?

Usually, when we back up iPhone to iTunes, the data on iPhone is saved but in case if we make any "updates", it just replaces the previous backup files with the new data instead of creating new backup file for the iPhone with new data. It also says that iTunes will back up your device incrementally if the times for two backups are too close. But who knows? Only one backup is stored in iTunes and users feel nervous about the safety of their data.

2. Does iCloud Overwrite iPhone Backups?

iCloud creates a new backup for iPhone without overwriting the previous backups and regularly backs up your iPhone when connected to WiFi automatically if you have enabled the option: Settings > iCloud > Backup > iCloud Backup. This helps us to restore lost contacts or notes from the backup copies that you have from the past. But if the content in last iCloud backup is only slightly different with the current data on iPhone, then iCloud will overwrite the previous one.

back up to iCloud

However, there is a chance where users can back up iPhone without overriding the content of the previous backup with a different time stamp. Let's get into two ways on how to create a new iPhone backup without affecting the old backups even if it has slight differences.

3. Archive Old iTunes Backup before Creating a New One

If you want to make a new iTunes backup without overwriting old ones, just run iTunes on your computer and follow the steps:

(1) Get into Edit > Preferences > Devices, then Ctrl + click on the backup name.

(2) Select "Archive" from the pop-up menu.

(3) Backup name will be renamed as "Device - Month, Day, Year, Hour: Minutes" and archived.

If you make a new backup, it will be named as "Device". But you should notice that this only works on iTunes for Mac. Using a Windows computer? Try the following method.

4. Back Up iPhone without Overwriting the Previous Backups

iMyFone D-Port Pro is an professional iOS data backup & restore Tool. When backing up iPhone, it allows you to Back up iPhone/iPad/iPod touch without overwriting the previous backups, and do much more for you than iTunes.

Key Features:

  • It can separately back up messages, WhatsApp data, or WeChat data on device.
  • It can preview and extract data from different iTunes or iCloud backups without restoring them.
  • It can selectively restore data from old backups, which is not possible in iTunes or iCloud.
  • The function backup of the program is totally free for both Windows and Mac users.

Try It FreeTry It Free

Steps to Back Up iPhone with D-Port Pro

Let's go through the easy steps to create a new iPhone backup without deleting the previous one through iMyFone D-Port Pro. Of course, you need to download and run the program and connect your iPhone to it.

Step 1. Choose the option "Back Up & Export from Device" from the left panel. You will see that iMyFone D-Port Pro can not only back up your iPhone fully or partially, but also export data from device. Here you need to click "Make a Full Backup".

make a full backup of iOS device

Step 2. Click "Back Up" to proceed on next screen, then the program will start to back up all the data and setting on your iPhone. Ensure that the device is not disconnected during this process.

backing up device

Step 3. After the process gets completed, a notification will be displayed if the device has been backed up successfully. The old iTunes backup on your device won't be overwritten or affected at all.

succesfully back up device

There is no intention to delete our sweet memories or contact numbers of our loved ones from the backup file, but ignorance and unfamiliarity of Apple's iTunes or iCloud service will lead to losing of data. If you want to completely or selectively back up new data along with the previous data, or restore or extract the data from old backup, then iMyFone D-Port Pro iPhone backup & restore tool with multiple functions will do this for you. Download and use its free trial version for now!

Try It FreeTry It Free