iPhone Won’t Erase All Content and Settings? [Solved]

iMyFone Umate Pro iMyFone Umate Pro
imyfone app

user case

There are times when your iPhone or iPad can start acting up for no good reason. When it does this, solving the problem can be quite a trial. However, if your iPhone or iPad does not respond when you try to erase all content and settings, there may be more to the issue than you think.

If you have recently performed a jailbreak on your iPhone or iPad, it won’t do you any good to try erasing all content and settings. Your phone would simply get stuck and refuse to respond. What do you do when confronted with this situation? Read on to find out.

Easy Fixes for “iPhone Won’t Erase All Content and Settings”

There are several ways you can tackle the problem if your iPhone or iPad refuses to erase all content and settings. Remember that erasing all content and settings gets rid of all your data. It is basically a factory reset. So you should only do this if you want to let go of the phone permanently or if you have no other option to get it to work.

1 Use Alternative Way to Erase Your iPhone/iPad

When trying to get your iPhone or iPad to erase all content and settings, you won’t have it easier than when you use iMyFone Umate Pro iPhone Data Eraser. Providing top-level security, Umate Pro takes the ‘hard’ out of hard reset and makes it all easy as pie. To secure your privacy, it will shred everything sensitive like never existed.

Umate Pro "Erase" is different from iPhone "Erase All Content and Settings". iPhone just makes data invisible, that means deleted data is still recoverable. However, Umate Pro repeatedly overwrites iPhone data to remove from iPhone and its drive. There is no track to access or retrieve the erased data.

Umate Pro iphone data eraser

8,000,000+ Downloads

Features of Umate Pro:

  • 4 erasing modes to protect all your privacy ranges: erase all data, erase existing files, erase deleted files and wipe app fragments.
  • Your data will be completely wiped that no one can recover.
  • It enables you to access and view all iPhone data, and destroy data you don’t want selectively in bulk or all at once.
  • It’s the first and only one iPhone data eraser that supports completely erasing 3rd-party app data.

Try It FreeTry It Free

iMyFone Umate Pro is compatible with all iPhones, including iPhone X, 8, 8 Plus, and received positive reviews from getintopc.com, MacWorld, APPKED, etc.

iMyFone Umate Pro review

Steps to Permanently Erase All Data from iPhone:

Step 1: Download Umate Pro and launch the app. Connect your Apple device to your PC.

Step 2: You will see four erasing options available on the Umate Pro homepage. Click on the “Erase All Data” tab and click “Erase”.

iMyFone Umate Pro

Step 3: Umate Pro will take you to another window where you can see a Security Level tab. You can choose from three security levels.
iMyFone Umate Pro

Step 4: Type “delete” into the box. Click the “Erase Now” button to erase all the data on your device. Keep your device connected to your pc and do not use it while the erase process is ongoing.
iMyFone Umate Pro

Don't Simply but Completely Erase iPhone in These Scenario:

Want to make previously deleted files unrecoverable
Prepare to sell or give away your iPhone/iPad
Send your iPhone to repair (back up iPhone first and erase it)
Want to destroy sensitive data from iPhone
Would like to completely clean iPhone
Want iPhone to start afresh
...

2 Update iOS Version

Another way you can tackle the problem is to update your Apple device iOS. This effectively updates your device and gets you past the stuck phase. You can update your iOS version with these easy steps but first ensure you backup your device:

Step 1: Make sure your iPhone or iPad is connected to stable Wi-Fi.
Step 2: Open Settings app, go to General > Software Update.
Step 3: It will show you the details about the new iOS if there is one. Click Download and Install.
Step 4: Enter your screen passcode when prompted and it will download and install the latest iOS on your device.

Update iOS Version

When this is done, go to “Settings > Genera > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings” and try again.

3 Restart Your iPhone/iPad

Many times, the solution to your problem could be as simple as restarting your Apple device. To get this done, all you need to do is:


Reboot iPhone X:

  1. Press and hold the Side button and Volume up/down button at the same time, until the slider appears.
  2. Slide the slider from left to right to turn your iPhone X off.
  3. Then press and hold the Side button until you can see the Apple logo.
Reboot iPhone X

Restart iPhone 8, or earlier, or iPad:

  1. Keep pressing the Top (or Side) button until the slider appears.
  2. Slide the slider to right to turn iPhone off.
  3. Then, press and hold the Top (or Side) button again until you see the Apple logo.
Reboot iPhone 8

4 Hard Reset Your iPhone/iPad

Hard reset is different from factory reset, namely “Erase All Content and Settings”. Hard reset won’t affect any of your iPhone data. When you hard reset iPhone and turn it back, non of the settings will be changed.

It’s commonly used when your iPhone stuck, keeps crashing, suddenly corrupts, etc. It will save your iPhone from unexpected accidents.

The steps to apply hard reset are different for different iPhone models. You can refer to this guide below for the detailed steps.

Guide to Hard Reset iPhone X/8/7/6/5 >>

What Does “Erase All Content and Settings Do”

Erase all content and settings restores your Apple device to its Out Of Box configuration. It is essentially a factory reset that wipes all your data and settings and leaves your Apple device good as new.

Does Resetting iPhone Erase Personal Data? Resetting iPhone will delete personal data, but not erase files. It’s different. That means some sensitive data can be easily recovered even after reset.

Does Resetting iPhone Delete Factory Software? No. After reset, the iOS version on your iPhone won’t be changed. Besides, the default apps like Phone, Camera, Calender, etc. won’t be cleared from your device.

Does Resetting iPhone Delete Jailbreak? Yes. So you need to do jailbreak again.

Does Resetting iPhone Delete Backups? No. The backups are stored online or on your computer. Resetting iPhone won’t have any impact on it.

Final Words

No matter what prompts you to erase all content and settings on your Apple device, you can do no better than letting Umate Pro iPhone Data Eraser take care of it for you. Give yourself less stress and more result.