Maybe you just want to delete it so that you can give it away to a friend and they can add their own account. Or maybe you’ve shared the same Apple ID with a family member for awhile, and you’re getting frustrated with the hassle of sharing the same media, contacts, etc.
Either way, you have a few options. You can delete the account manually, or you can do it with special software. Let’s discuss the differences in a bit more detail:
Why You Should Delete Your iCloud Account Permanently
If you just remove your iCloud account from the iPhone manually to start a new one, there could actually still be a lot of personal information on the device. You might try to manually delete your contacts and photos from the device, but this can still be recovered using specialized software.
If you’re not careful with your personal data, whoever ends up with your device in the future could have access to:
- Old pictures that you thought you deleted.
- You Internet history.
- Personal information that you tried to remove, but that can be recovered by hackers.
This is why you need to make sure that your personal info—your account details as well as what you stored on your iPhone, iPad or iPod from iCloud—are permanently deleted.
Is Manually Deleting iCloud Account Safe Enough?
Generally, no. For the reasons stated above, a lot of your personal information can still hang around on your device after you have deleted your iCloud account. Maybe if you’re giving the iPhone away to a family member or something like that, you won’t have to worry so much, but it’s still good practice to use a tool to permanently wipe your personal data when you delete your iCloud account.
Just manually deleting things on your device leaves traces. It may be out of sight, but until it is overwritten by iOS, it will still be recoverable.
How to Delete iOS Data Permanently (iOS 11 Compatible)
To be able to safely remove data from your iPhone, iPad, or iPod permanently, you will have to use a specialized tool such as iMyFone iOS Eraser for Win or for Mac. It can remove personal data and account on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod so that it is beyond the possibility of recovery.
This is much safer than simply deleting your account and giving your iDevice away just like that, or even performing a normal factory reset (which just makes all the data invisible). A truly thorough way to remove personal information from your iOS device so that it leaves no trace is to use the Erase All Data feature on iMyFone iOS Eraser.
Steps to Delete iOS Data Permanently
Note: Before using iMyFone iOS Eraser, please make sure "Find My iPhone" option has already been disabled.
Step 1: Download and install iMyFone iOS Eraser to your computer. Connect your device to your computer, then launch the program.
Step 2: Click on the tab that says Erase All Data from the left sidebar and click on Erase.
Step 3: Choose your security level, type “delete” into the box and click on Erase Now to confirm.
Wait until the software is done erasing all the data on your device. It will let you know when it is done.
Key features of iMyFone Eraser:
- The data that you erase in most modes is 100% unrecoverable.
- Find and erase files that you deleted manually, but that are still hidden in your device drive.
- Selectively reset private data from iDevice and make data completely gone.
- Erase data from WhatsApp and WeChat, and erase traces from Snapchat, Viber, Twitter, Facebook, etc.
- Clear all app junk files for free and clear huge temporary files for a clean device.