There are times when your iPhone experiences such an error that the only thing left for you is to restore all settings. If you are wondering what this is all about, or how to go about it, read on.
What Does Reset All Settings Do on iPhone
What is “Reset All Settings”? Just as the name implies, by selecting “reset all settings”, there would be a reset of all settings on your iPhone to default.
Will you lose data?
Only your system settings will be reset. You will not lose any apps, data, documents or files.
Do you need to backup before you “Reset All Setting”?
It is advisable for you to keep a backup of your iPhone. In this case, it is not necessary for you to backup your iPhone as resetting all settings will not result to loss of data.
Steps to Reset All Settings on iPhone
To reset all settings on your iPhone, just follow these steps:
- Go to Settings app > General > Reset > Reset All Settings.
- You will be required to enter your passcode.
- After entering your passcode, the reset will start.
What’re the Differences between All Reset Options on iPhone
When you go to Settings app > General > Reset, you will see a few settings there. But do you really what the differences are between them. Let’s have a closer look.
Reset All Settings: This will reset just the settings and won’t harm or affect your data.
Erase All Contents and Settings: This will totally erase the iPhone. It will erase and reset your data, settings and every other thing on the phone. This option is a factory reset option, and is usually made use of as a last card when there is a severe iOS problem.
Reset Network Settings: This will reset just the network settings of your iPhone. All the WiFi usernames and passwords you have saved on the iPhone will be erased. This option is useful in fixing different network problems.
Reset Keyboard Dictionary: In general, it will save your own typing in keyboard dictionary. There are times when the iOS system doesn’t get it right. When you reset keyboard dictionary, it will clear all the words you saved in your dictionary.
Reset Home Screen Layout: Using this option will reset your iPhone’s home screen to its default layout. If you move a stock app out of the home screen, this will return it home.
Reset Location and Privacy: This will reset the location and privacy settings to the factory default, including”Find My iPhone”. But note that, the default settings are set to Off.
How Should I Reset iPhone for Privacy Protection
To reset your iPhone and erase all its contents, you can use the “Erase All Content and Settings”. However, you should note that it is not safe because any geek worth his salt will be able to recover your information.
Steps to Permanently Reset iPhone to Avoid Privacy Leak
You can make use of iMyFone Umate Pro iPhone Data Eraser to permanently reset your iPhone to avoid privacy leaks. To do this, just follow these steps:
Step 1. Launch the iMyFone Umate Pro iPhone Data Eraser on your computer. Connect your iPhone to your computer with a USB.
Step 2. Go to “Erase All Data” tab and click on “Erase” button.
Other Options to Choose:
- Erase Private Data: If you want to selectively reset some of the data from your iPhone, choose this mode.
- Erase Deleted Files: If you’re worried about previously deleted files will be recovered, choose this mode where you can also view your deleted files.
- Erase Private Fragments: If you don’t want any traces left by 3rd-party apps to reveal your privacy, just run this mode.
Step 3. Type “Delete” in the box to confirm and tap “Erase Now” button.
After these steps, you will have to wait for few minutes and your iPhone will be totally erased, having no chance of being recovered.
Why Choose iMyFone Data Eraser?
- 0 Recovery Rate: Any data erased by iMyFone Umate Pro is 100% unrecoverable. Rest assured, you privacy is safe.
- Preview & Select: You can view the existing or deleted messages, call logs, notes, history, photos, videos and more on iPhone, and select those unwanted to reset securely.
- Wipe Third-Party App Data: It’s the first data eraser that can completely erase 3rd-party app data, like WhatsApp, WeChat, Kik, Viber, and more.
- Easy to Use: Its interface is user friendly. Even without the guide, you can easily find out how to use.
- 3 Wiping Level: It provides you 3 security levels which you can choose according to your needs.