Why would someone want to reset an iPad? Well, it could be for a number of reasons. They may have noticed that their device was bogged down by lots of data and they just want to start fresh. They could also be planning to give the device away and want to remove all of the data so that the next person who uses it has a clean slate; this also helps enhance the last user's privacy, of course.
What Happens When You Reset Your iPad?
In short, when you reset your iPad to factory settings, you lose everything. The term that Apple uses for this is a “restore,” but the semantics don't really matter because it results in the same thing: all your apps, photos, music, and other data are lost. Go to “Settings > General > Reset”.
- Reset All Settings: All of your preferences and settings will be removed except you apps and files.
- Erase All Content and Settings: You iPhone would resume back to its factory settings. Everything on your iPhone will be removed. After restarting, your iPhone should be set up from the beginning.
- Reset Network Settings: It would eliminate all VPN and APN connections and all saved wifi passcode present on your iPhone. But the VPN settings set up from Profile will not be deleted.
- Reset Keyboard Dictionary: Any thing you added to dictionary will be removed.
- Reset Home Screen Layout: iPhone had a factory installed screen layout. If you have grown tired of the downloaded and absurd home screens you can very well reset home screen layout.
- Reset Location & Privacy: The location services and privacy settings will be reset to the factory default.
This is what happens if you reset your iPad. Before you do the reset, you will be asked if you want to backup your data. This is probably a good idea just in case because you never know if you will need to use it again.
iPad Reset Is Not Safe Enough!
Now, if you perform a factory reset on your iPad, then apparently your data is gone, right? Since it's not showing up on your screen and it is no longer accessible, then it's permanently deleted and you never have to worry about anyone seeing what was on your device, right?
Well, not necessarily. Here's the thing: Even if you do a regular “reset,” the data is often still there until it is over-written. In other words, it is not permanently erased and is in theory recoverable. This means that just factory resetting your iPad the normal way is not safe if you're looking to protect your privacy.
How to Safely & Permanently Reset Your iPad
What happen if you reset your iPad—the permanent way? The ultimate way to reset your iPad and rid it of all its private data and more is to use iPad data eraser like iMyFone Umate Pro or iMyFone Umate Pro for Mac. This application permanently deletes files on your iPad so that they are completely unrecoverable. You can even scan your device to see what data you thought you had deleted, but that is actually still lingering silently in the background. This not only frees up space, but it also protects your privacy.
iMyFone Umate Pro is unique and powerful, and has a host of features that you will find useful if you're struggling to delete stubborn data. These include:
- Erase All Data: If you want to delete private password, entered email address, log in user names, etc. on your iPhone, you can benefit from the ‘Erase All Data’ feature. It is the best way before you give away your iPhone.
- Erase Deleted Files: Generally, data you normally deleted from your iPhone will not completely gone. They will be added into your iPhone database in deep. To make the deleted files completely deleted, you’d best run this option to remove your worries of privacy leak.
- Erase Private Data: This feature would fit your needs if you want to permanently delete your current iPhone data. It also supports to erase WhatsApp messages and media, WeChat chats and media and also the viber data.
- Fully compatible with iOS 11 and receive lots of positive reviews from macworld.co.uk, getintopc.com, pocket-lint.com, macbed.com etc.
3 Steps to Completely Reset Your iPad
1. Connect your iPad to computer and open the software.
2. Tap “Erase All Data” tab and click “Erase” button.
3. Type “delete” into the box and start the reset process by click “Erase Now” button.
All of these features can be used by simply downloading and installing iMyFone Umate on your computer, running the software, and connecting your iPad to your computer through a simple USB interface.
So next time you ask yourself, “What happens when I reset my iPad?,” perhaps a better question to ask yourself is, “What happens if I reset all settings on my iPad with iMyFone Umate?” The answer is that you finally gain control over your device and are able to delete your data forever.