Text messages, or any other data for that matter, are not really deleted from your system after you remove it in the usual manner. The data still remains in the memory that can be easily retrieved using various data recovery software.
Hence, it implies that your private data is still in danger of being hacked or stolen as attackers can easily mine out such deleted messages on iPhone very conveniently from your system.
Here you will find the many ways in which you can protect your privacy by erasing deleted messages on iPhone permanently.
Part 1: Permanently Erase Deleted Messages on iPhone – 100% Unrecoverable!
There are various third-party apps that you can use to permanently erase data from iPhone. However, one of the most utilitarian and versatile apps is the iMyFone Umate Pro or iMyFone Umate Pro for Mac. This iMyFone iPhone data eraser is an incredibly easy-to-use and intuitive app that has a number of functions in terms of removing data from iPhone permanently.
Key Features of iMyFone iPhone Data Eraser:
- It allows you to remove data that you have deleted previously by completely overwriting the data and as such making it 100% unrecoverable.
- It can erase all types of iOS data, be it messages, browser history, contact info, photos, videos, and much more ever so conveniently.
- It lets you erase data that results from using other third-party apps such as WhatsApp, WeChat, Kik, Viber, Facebook, Snapchat etc.
How can You Erase Deleted iMessages from iPhone?
Follow the steps mentioned below to erase deleted messages from your iPhone using Umate Pro.
Step 1. Launch iMyFone Umate Pro and connect your iPhone to the computer.
Step 2. Click on the ‘Erase Deleted Files’ option and click ‘Scan’. The app will start scanning your device for any deleted files on your memory.
Step 3. Once the scan is done, all the deleted files will be displayed and you can easily check the deleted messages that you want to erase.
Step 4. Click “Erase Now” and type in “delete” to confirm. Click “Erase Now”.
iMyFone Umate Pro is reviewed by many well-known media as the most advanced iPhone data eraser.
Part 2: 3 Other Ways to Delete iPhone Messages – Recoverable!
Apart from the method mentioned above to remove iPhone messages, there are three other ways in which you can easily erase your iPhone data.
1 Sync your iPhone with iTunes or iCloud
Syncing your data with iTunes or iCloud will allow you to delete messages from iPhone as you will have a back-up stored on iTunes or iCloud. This will make sure that even after you delete your messages from iPhone, you still have them on iTunes or iCloud.
1. How to sync iPhone with iTunes?
Step 1. Launch iTunes and connect your iPhone to the computer.
Step 2. Right at the top on the upper-right corner, you will see the name of your device being displayed. Select your device.
Step 3. You will now be redirected to another page where you can see the option to back-up your device. Click on “Back Up Now” to create a backup of your iPhone messages.
Step 4. Click “Done”.
2. How to back up using iCloud?
Backing up your iPhone data on iCloud is very simple. All you need to do is go to the Settings app on your phone and then scroll down until you see the ‘iCloud Backup’ option. Enable the option and all your data including your messages will be backed up.
You can then delete your messages from your phone’s memory.
2 Erase all data using the Factory Restore settings.
If you are planning to sell your phone, it is highly recommended that you use the Factory Restore option to wipe your iPhone completely. This will ensure that the potential buyer has no access to your private files.
Also, if your phone is running slow and you feel that there is too much data on your memory, restoring your device to factory settings will likely improve the performance of your device.
In order to factory reset your iPhone, you will need to:
Step 1. Go to Settings -> General -> Reset.
Step 2. Choose the option “Erase All Content and Settings”.
Step 3. Enter your passcode and tap to confirm.
3 Remove the Messages App from Spotlight search
Lastly, if you do not feel that the methods above are effective in your case, you can simply delete the Messages app altogether.
You can do so using Spotlight search.
Step 1. Simply drag down anywhere on your Home Screen until a search bar comes up.
Step 2. Type in ‘Messages’.
Step 3. The app will show up and all you need to do is tap and hold the icon and then tap on the ‘x’ icon to delete it.
Although this will prevent you from using the app, you can however, rest assured that your privacy will be protected.