What Happens If I Restore My iPhone?

Did you try to update your iPhone 6s, but you had an error? Is the screen that normally says "Connect to iTunes" telling you instead that you have to restore your iPhone? You might be wondering what's going on or whether restoring your iPhone will harm your device. What should you do?

These are very common questions for iPhone users nowadays. iTunes errors happen fairly frequently, so people want to know what to do if their iPhone needs to be restored. In this article, we'll talk about what happens when you restore your phone and what you need to do before you restore.

If I Restore My iPhone What Happens?

The simple answer is that restoring your iPhone erases all of the data on it. Your iPhone will be wiped clean and it will basically act like it's a new phone. "Restoring" your iPhone is like performing a factory data reset. The only way that you can get your data back after restoring is if you made a backup before you restored.

You may need: How to Backup iPhone without iTunes

Usually, people restore their phones because there's some kind of problem that they're trying to solve, like a software issue. Of course, in this sort of case, it would be better if they could somehow solve the issue without erasing all of their data.

Is this possible, though? Actually, it is! If you use iMyFone iOS System Recovery to restore your device, you can fix your iPhone without having to erase any of the data on it.

What Is iMyFone iOS System Recovery and What Can It Do?

iMyFone iOS System Recovery is a simple application that can help you fix many different issues on your iPhone without having to restore your iPhone completely. It basically takes all the hassle out of dealing with iOS bugs by quickly downloading and installing the right firmware for you. With just a few clicks, your system will be back to normal.

A few of the things that System Recovery can do for you include:

700,000+ Downloads

Key Features:

Try It FreeTry It Free

How to Restore Your iPhone Without Erasing Data

There are several modes that you can use to fix your iPhone with iMyFone iOS System Recovery, but the one that you want to use if you are trying to avoid data loss is Standard Mode. Here is how you use it:

(1) Download and install System Recovery, then launch it. Plug in your iPhone to your computer.

(2) Click where it says "Standard Mode" on the main screen.

choose standard mode

(3) Now follow the on-screen directions to put your device into recovery mode or DFU mode. Basically, this involves pressing and holding the Sleep/Wake button and the Home button at the same time. To go into recovery mode, keep doing this until you see the "Connect to iTunes" screen on your iPhone.

put iPhone into Recovery mode

To go into DFU mode, press and hold the two buttons for ten seconds or so, then let go of the Sleep/Wake button. Keep holding the Home button for roughly another 5 seconds.

put iPhone into DFU mode

(4) Once you're either in recovery mode or DFU mode, the software will detect the latest firmware that your device needs. Just click Download, and the program will automatically download and install it for you.

choose firmware package

(5) Wait while iMyFone iOS System Recovery fixes your device. Do not unplug your iPhone until the application says that it's finished.

finish fixing

What happens when you restore your iPhone? Well, you will lose all of your data if you use the official restore method that involves iTunes. But there is nothing to be afraid of. Instead, you can save your precious data by either making a backup before your restore or using iMyFone iOS System Recovery to restore your iPhone without any data loss at all.

Try It FreeTry It Free