All iPhones can be restored to their factory settings. The purpose of restoring an iPhone is to troubleshoot the device if there are an issues or if you want to start fresh. The question many iOS users have in mind is whether restoring iPhone deletes everything or the data on the device stays intact.
- Does Restore iPhone with iCloud Delete Everything?
- Does Restore iPhone with iTunes Delete Everything?
Does Restoring an iPhone Delete Everything?
It depends on the method you use for restoring. Let’s examine some common restore methods to see which one deletes everything and which one does not.
Does Restore iPhone with iCloud Delete Everything?
When you restore your iPhone with iCloud, your data does not get deleted. This is because after performing a reset, the files from your iCloud backup are restored to your iPhone to the same point at which you backed it up via iCloud. When restoring iPhone, you can select restoring via iCloud as well as the last time your device was synced. Since iCloud automatically syncs, you should already have your device backed up on iCloud. And even if your device did not get synced last time, you will still have a backup available. In this case, you will get the most of your iPhone data after you restore it with iCloud.
Steps to Restore iPhone without Losing Data Via iCloud
Step 1. First, make sure to back up your iPhone to iCloud. You can do this by connecting your iPhone to a stable internet connection and then navigating to Settings > [your name] > iCloud > iCloud Backup and then select the Back Up Now option under the section Turn on iCloud Backup.
Step 2. Open Settings app again and navigate to General > Reset and then tap the Erase All Content and Settings option.
Step 3. Now in the Apps & Data section, use Sign in to iCloud option and then navigate to Restore from iCloud Backup. Once there, choose backup and select the one that contains your data that you wish to restore.
Does Restore iPhone with iTunes Delete Everything?
There are two ways to restore iPhone with iTunes. The standard method does not delete your iPhone data when restoring. On the other hand, if you restore your iPhone with DFU mode, then all your iPhone data gets deleted.
Steps to Restore iPhone without Losing Data via iTunes
Follow these instructions to restore with iTunes:
Step 1. First make sure to turn off Find My iPhone feature on your iPhone.
Step 2. Then connect your iPhone to your PC with a compatible USB cable.
Step 3. Launch iTunes. Once your iPhone is detected in iTunes, navigate to the Summary section and choose the Restore Backup option. Confirm your action by chosse one of the backup. The restoration process will start.
Steps to Restore iPhone in DFU mode
Follow these instructions to restore an iPhonw in DFU mode:
Step 1. Switch off your iPhone and connect it to your computer via compatible USB cable.
Step 2. Now press the Home button of your iPhone and hold it until you see the DFU Mode screen. You can release the Home button now.
Step 3. If everything goes right, then iTunes will launch automatically. If it doesn’t, then launch it manually. iTunes will detect that your iPhone is in DFU Mode. It will also notify you about that.
Step 4. Click on OK. The restoration process will begin and once the process is completed, your iPhone will restart automatically.
Do You Want to Permanently Delete Everything from Your iPhone?
If you want to delete everything from your iPhone, then using iMyFone Umate Pro iPhone Data Eraser is highly recommended. This third-party iPhone data erasing tool is equipped with powerful features that will allow you to delete your iPhone data quickly and permanently. Deleting all iPhone data with Umate Pro is highly recommended particularly when you are about to sell your iPhone because the new owner won’t be able to recover your personal data that you erased and your privacy will remain protected. Following are some features of this software:
- Permanently erase all settings and data of iPhone, making it 100% recoverable.
- Scan and permanently erase deleted files from your iPhone.
- Protect your privacy by permanently erasing private iPhone data such as messages, contacts, call logs, etc.
- Preview files before deleting them. You can also erase files selectively via this feature.
- Free up iPhone's space and boost its performance with a single click.
Steps to Delete Everything from Your iPhone Via Umate Pro
Step 1. Open Umate Pro and connect your iPhone to your PC via USB cable.
Step 2. Select Erase All Data mode of Umate Pro and then click the Erase button.
Step 3. Select the Security Level of deletion and type the word ‘delete’ in the provided textbox.
Step 4. Next, click Erase Now button. The deletion process will begin.