WhatsApp is one of the biggest social sites used widely to communicate with your friends, family, and colleagues. But sometimes, you no longer need any contact for any reason, so you simply delete it or move it into the block accounts list. In this article, we will tell you to step by step process for deleting any WhatsApp contact or simply drag it into the block accounts list in an easy way.

Part 1: How to Delete a WhatsApp Contact?

WhatsApp uses the same username and contact info you saved in your phone's contact book. As a result, there is no alternate option to delete the contact info from the WhatsApp account and add it to your phone's contact book. So, to remove the contact number, name and every information altogether, you have to delete that contact entirely from your phone book as there is no other option.

Deleting a contact will not stop their messages and call. They can still contact you! Here are the steps involved in deleting process for Android and iPhone.

Delete a WhatsApp Contact on Android or iOS

Delete a WhatsApp Contact on Android

Step 1: Run WhatsApp and open the contact's Chat you wished to delete.

whatsapp chat

Step 2: Tap on the contact's name on the top.

Step 3: A new window had now been opened, showing the person's profile screen. Tap on three dots on the top right corner and select the option of "View in Address Book" from the menu.

delete whatsapp contact android

Step 4: The contact details will be opened. Tap on three dots on the top right corner and select the option of "Delete" from the menu.

whatsapp contact delete android

Step 5: A pop-up will now appear asking you for deleting confirmation. Tap on "Yes" to finally delete the contact.


Delete a WhatsApp Contact on iPhone

Step 1: Open WhatsApp and then open the Chat of one you wanted to delete.

Step 2: Tap on contact's name now. A new window with the contact's profile will appear.

delete whatsapp contacts iphone

Step 3: Here, tap on "Edit", appearing in the top right corner.

Step 4: On your phone, a new window of "edit" will open. Here, tap on "Delete Contact" and then, restart your iPhone.

Alternatively, you can also delete contacts directly from your Android or iPhone's contact book by finding them there. The contact will delete from WhatsApp too, but if it is still available, use the described methods in the next part.

Deleted Contacts Still Showing Up in WhatsApp

Suppose the deleted contact is still showing up, even after performing the steps correctly. In that case, you can fix it through three methods:

Refreshing WhatsApp Contacts on Android

WhatsApp takes some time to automatically refresh the contacts. Still, you can also do it manually on Android as this method isn't available on iPhone.

For that, open WhatsApp and tap on the bottom right "Compose" option. Then, tap on the three dots option on the top-right corner and select the "Refresh" option from there. After that, search for the deleted contact. Hopefully, it would not show on the WhatsApp contacts list.

Delete Chat

Deleting a contact from the phone book does not delete their chat thread, so if you still see the chat thread, you must delete it manually.

On Android, Tap and hold the chat thread and then tap on the "Delete" option that appeared on the top.

On iPhone, Swipe left on the Chat. Then hit "More" and then the "Delete" option.

Restart Phone

The last method is to restart your phone if the above two options failed to work.

Block the Contact Instead Of Deleting It

You also can simply block a contact on WhatsApp. Blocked connection can't contact you through WhatsApp. Moreover, they can't see your WhatsApp status, profile picture or any other update.

Steps for securing the contact are as follows:

Step 1: Open WhatsApp and then top on "Three Dots" in the top right corner.

Step 2: Tap on "Settings" and then tap on "Account".

Step 3: Here, tap on "Privacy" and search for the "Blocked Contacts" option and tap it.

whatsapp block a contact

Step 4: On the top-right corner, you can see the" Add" option. Tap on it.

Step 5: Now search for your contact and block it.

Part 2: How to Permanently Delete Blocked Numbers on iPhone?

Moving any contact in the blocklist does not delete its phone number from the phone's contact book. To avoid this, you must permanently delete their contact number. The whole procedure is described below:

If the contact isn't blocked, you first must stop them by touching the contact's name and choosing the "Block Contact" option. Now confirm it by pressing the "Lock button". Now the contact is blocked, but they can still connect with you through call or message.

For a permanent solution, find their name in your phone's address book and search their name, and then, access their contact profile. Once there, touch the "Edit" option and click on "Delete Contact".

The contact is now blocked and permanently deleted. You can also block the contact's access using the phone's own block feature, which will block SMS and call without blocking it on WhatsApp.

Part 3: Delete But Backup Your Data

Deleting and blocking contact has positive notes, but what if a user wants to save the Chat, documents, histories, and other shared files? To access them, a user can use iTransor for WhatsApp. iTransor is an easy and sophisticated app designed by taking care of users' different needs. This tool allows its users:

  1. To transfer WhatsApp between Android and iPhone without any data loss.
  2. Keeps your Backup safe on a computer from Android and iPhone .
  3. Quickly restoring backups on Android as well as iPhone.
  4. Exporting the WhatsApp backup to different formats such as HTML, PDF and CSV/XLS.

Transfer/Backup/Restore/Export WhatsApp on iPhone/Android with One Click.

Try It NowTry It Now
itransor product

Part 4: FAQs about Delete WhatsApp Contact

Q1.Why cannot delete WhatsApp contact?

WhatsApp uses the same username as in the phone book. The system does not allow it to delete it from the WhatsApp account but instead, keeps it added in the phone book.

Q2.How do I permanently delete blocked contacts on WhatsApp?

For deleting the blocked contact, open your phone's contact book > Search name > Edit > Delete contact

Q3.How do you know if someone deleted your contact on WhatsApp?

If anyone deleted your contact number from their phone book, WhatsApp wouldn't notify you about it. However, deleting anybody's contact number stops showing them your WhatsApp profile picture, status, last seen, and other privacy updates.

Conclusion

WhatsApp takes care of ones' privacy by allowing them to block any contact.However, it is a temporary solution as they can still access you. For a permanent one, you must delete their contact from the phone book.  However, if you are an iPhone user and want to keep the shared data between you and the deleted contact, you can use iTransor app, which is the best tool that can save data and backup and restore it accordingly.