Apple introduced the “Recently Deleted Album” in iOS 9 and somehow, the feature seems to divide the iOS fan base as to its importance to an iPhone user. The folder/album can be found in the Photos app and was created to house pictures delete by users for a specific time before the pictures are totally deleted.
To some, it’s a way of recovering pictures they mistakenly delete, and to some, not worth it. And where is recently deleted on iPhone? The question that now remains is how you permanently get rid of the pictures that are found in the folder, so that you can release this storage space for better use.
Part 1: Where is “Recently Deleted” Folder? How to Erase It Permanently?
Solution 1: Find Recently Deleted Folder on iPhone and Remove It
There is provision to delete pictures in the album manually. This process can be painstaking especially if you have a lot of pictures pending in the folder. That said, the steps are straightforward and is highlighted below:
- Launch the Photos app from the Home screen
- Tap “Albums” at the bottom of the screen
- Scroll down till you find the “Recently Deleted Album”
- On the top-right corner, tap “Select”
- You can either delete all or delete some selected pictures
- Check all the pictures you want gone by tapping them
- After you’re done, tap the bin icon to delete these files
- Confirm the delete action on the ensuing prompt
Solution 2: Permanently Erase Deleted Photos Not Only from "Recently Deleted" Folder But Also Other Invisible Folders
iMyFone Umate Pro iPhone Data Eraser or iMyFone Umate Pro iPhone Data Eraser for Mac has many features useful for all iOS device owners. For the purpose of this section however, let’s stick to some of its features and how they apply to pictures. Umate Pro has a delete feature that can help maximize the way iPhone users delete photos and other private files from their devices. Let’s examine these ways a bit:
- The photos erased by Umate Pro won’t go to “Recently Deleted Albums” and they are 100% unrecoverable
- Permanently erase previously deleted photos: Whenever any deletion happens on your device, they are merely removed from the ‘surface’ of your device, but they are still somewhere on your device waiting for someone to come and recover them.
- Files erased by Umate Pro iPhone Data Eraser – whether previously deleted or freshly deleted – are erased permanently without any probability of being recovered, no matter the recovery tool used.
Steps of Erasing All Previously Deleted iPhone Photos (including the "Recently Deleted" folder)
Step 1: Launch the program and connect your iPhone to it.
Step 2: Select the mode “Erase Deleted Files” that applies to your needs .
Step 3: Select “Scan” to see these previously deleted files on your device.
Step 3: Follow the prompt on the screen to confirm any action you want to perform.
Umate Pro iPhone Data Eraser Other key features
- 1-Click space saving feature enables users boost iPhone speed by removing some redundant files such as caches, cookies, junk files, temporary files etc.
- Erase 3rd-Party App messages and attachment including WhatsApp, WeChat, Kik, Viber, and 10+ more..
- Reset your device without fear that your files will be recovered by anyone.
- Preview and selectively erase only the files that can compromise your integrity or privacy.
Part 2: Where is “Recently Deleted” Folder? How to Revocer It?
Situation 1: Recover Temporarily Deleted Photos
If your iPhone is running in iOS 9 or later, when you delete photos from Camera Roll on your iPhone, these deleted items will be moved to the photo album named “Recently Deleted”. This is new feature of iPhone Photos app since iOS 9.
Your recently deleted photos & videos will be automatically stored in this album for 30 days before they are deleted permanently. You can easily recover this kind of photos by selecting them and taping on the Recover button.
Situation 2: Recover Permanently Deleted Photos
What if you deleted photos from “Recently Deleted”? In other words, what if deleted pictures be removed from your iPhone permanently, where do these photos go? Is it still possible to find and recover these deleted photos?
Generally, if you have created backup with iTunes or iCloud before deleting pictures from your iPhone, you can find deleted photos by restoring from iTunes or iCloud backup after erasing all content and settings on your iPhone. And if you have no iPhone backup, normally, you have to face the fact that your iPhone pictures are gone forever.